Consistent with updated guidance from Pennsylvania and the CDC, face coverings and social distancing for guests who are fully vaccinated will no longer be required. View Safety
AHL Logo Centered

AHL Announces Division Format For 2021-22, Schedule Unification for 2022-23

June 7, 2021

American Hockey League President and CEO Scott Howson announced that the league’s Board of Governors has approved a schedule unification plan that will see all teams play a 72-game regular-season schedule beginning in 2022-23.  

As part of the plan, for the 2021-22 season, teams in the Atlantic, North and Central Divisions have the option  of playing either 76 or 72 games, while teams in the Pacific Division will play 68 games. Additionally, there  will be an increase in the number of teams qualifying for the Calder Cup Playoffs each year; details will be finalized and announced later in the offseason.  

“I am very pleased that we were able to achieve a schedule of 72 games for all teams in the American Hockey  League,” said Howson. “In coming together to create a plan that is fair and equitable, our owners have demonstrated a commitment to the long-term strength of the league.”  

The following division alignment has been approved for the 2021-22 AHL season (National Hockey League affiliations in parentheses):  

Eastern Conference  

Atlantic Division  
Bridgeport Islanders (New York Islanders)  
Charlotte Checkers (Florida Panthers)  
Hartford Wolf Pack (New York Rangers)  
Hershey Bears (Washington Capitals) 
Lehigh Valley Phantoms (Philadelphia Flyers)  
Providence Bruins (Boston Bruins)  
Springfield Thunderbirds (St. Louis Blues) 
Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins (Pittsburgh Penguins)   

North Division 
Belleville Senators (Ottawa Senators)  
Cleveland Monsters (Columbus Blue Jackets)  
Laval Rocket (Montreal Canadiens)  
Rochester Americans (Buffalo Sabres)  
Syracuse Crunch (Tampa Bay Lightning)  
Toronto Marlies (Toronto Maple Leafs)  
Utica Comets (New Jersey Devils)  

Western Conference  

Central Division  
Chicago Wolves (Carolina Hurricanes) 
Grand Rapids Griffins (Detroit Red Wings)  
Iowa Wild (Minnesota Wild)
Manitoba Moose (Winnipeg Jets)  
Milwaukee Admirals (Nashville Predators) 
Rockford IceHogs (Chicago Blackhawks)  
Texas Stars (Dallas Stars)  

Pacific Division
Abbotsford (Vancouver Canucks)  
Bakersfield Condors (Edmonton Oilers)  
Colorado Eagles (Colorado Avalanche) 
Henderson Silver Knights (Vegas Golden Knights)  
Ontario Reign (Los Angeles Kings)  
San Diego Gulls (Anaheim Ducks)  
San Jose Barracuda (San Jose Sharks) 
Stockton Heat (Calgary Flames) 
Tucson Roadrunners (Arizona Coyotes) 

Teams playing 76 games in 2021-22: Chicago, Cleveland, Grand Rapids, Hershey, Lehigh Valley,  Milwaukee, Rochester, Springfield, Syracuse, W-B/Scranton  

Teams playing 72 games in 2021-22: Belleville, Bridgeport, Charlotte, Hartford, Iowa, Laval, Manitoba,  Providence, Rockford, Texas, Toronto, Utica  

Teams playing 68 games in 2021-22: Abbotsford, Bakersfield, Colorado, Henderson, Ontario, San  Diego, San Jose, Stockton, Tucson  

The playing schedule and postseason format for the 2021-22 season, which begins Oct. 15, will be announced  this summer.  

Hershey Bears in a victory embrace

Join The Club!

Receive exclusive email with updates and offers.

Sign Me Up

device iconDownload the Applocation pin iconGet Directions