Last Game

Hershey Bears 2 Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins 3


10/02/2013 -
HERSHEY, Pa. – The Hershey Bears Hockey Club Hall of Fame Committee today announced the five people selected for induction into its Class of 2013.  The announcement was made by BEARS President/General Manager Doug Yingst.
Honored by the Hershey Bears Hockey Club Hall of Fame Committee as the second group of enshrinees are Gordon “Red” Henry (player), Arnie Kullman (player), Tim Tookey (player), Kenneth V. Hatt (builder) and J. Bruce McKinney (builder).
“We are excited to announce the second group of inductees into the Hershey Bears Hockey Club Hall of Fame,” Yingst said.  “These five individuals have been an integral part of the success that the Hershey Bears franchise and fans have enjoyed during the past 75 years.”
The induction will take place at GIANT Center on Sunday, December 1, prior to puck drop between the Hershey Bears and the Providence Bruins.  The Hershey Bears Hockey Club Hall of Fame is housed on the GIANT Center concourse.

Gordon “Red” Henry
Gordon “Red” Henry played for the Bears from 1944-55 and ranks first in club history in goalie wins (226) and goalie games played (510) and third in shutouts (18).  A native of Owen Sound, Ontario, the late Henry ranks first in all-time AHL playoff shutouts (eight) and seventh in all-time AHL wins (226).  Henry backstopped the Bears to the 1946-47 Calder Cup, allowing just one goal in the final three games of the Calder Cup Finals against the Pittsburgh Hornets.
Arnie Kullman
Arnie Kullman played for the Bears from 1948-60 and ranks second in club history in games played (753) and goals (253), third in points (619) and fourth in assists (366).  A native of Winnipeg, Manitoba, the late Kullman was a member of Hershey Calder Cup championship teams in 1957-58 and 1958-59, and the number 9 worn by Kullman and fellow inductee Tim Tookey has been retired by the Bears.  Kullman is tied for 36th in all-time AHL goals (253), tied for 39th in all-time AHL assists (366), tied for 40th in all-time AHL points (619) and ranks 41st in all-time AHL games played (753).
Tim Tookey
Tim Tookey played for the Bears from 1980-82, 1985-87 and 1989-94 and ranks second in club history in points (693) and assists (442) and third in goals (251).  A native of Edmonton, Alberta, Tookey produced three 100-point seasons for Hershey, including a club-record 124 in 1986-87 when he won the John B. Sollenberger Trophy as the AHL's leading scorer and the Les Cunningham Award as the AHL's most valuable player.  He also won the Jack Butterfield Trophy in 1985-86 as AHL playoff most valuable player and the AHL's prestigious Fred T. Hunt Memorial Award (sportsmanship, determination and dedication to hockey) in 1992-93.  Tookey, ranked fourth in all-time AHL scoring (974 points), fourth in all-time AHL assists (621) and 10th in all-time AHL goals (353), was inducted into the AHL Hall of Fame in 2008.
Kenneth V. Hatt
Kenneth V. Hatt served as President and Chief Operating Officer of HERCO from 1980-86.  A 1941 graduate of the Milton Hershey School and a protégé of Bears Hall of Fame executive John B. Sollenberger, Hatt has been a lifelong and fundamental supporter of the Bears, particularly during his 52 year tenure as a HERCO executive.  He served as Chairman of the Board of the Milton Hershey School and Hershey Trust and was named the school's Alumnus of the Year in 1962.  Hatt has been attending Hershey Bears hockey games for 70 years and has worked with Bears management from the very beginning of the franchise.
J. Bruce McKinney
J. Bruce McKinney served as Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer of Hershey Entertainment and Resorts Company for 14 years and oversaw Calder Cup championships in 1979-80, 1987-88 and 1996-97.  During his long career with the company, he also served as the public address announcer for Bears games at Hersheypark Arena from 1967-71.  McKinney retired in 2000.  A 1955 graduate of the Milton Hershey School and a 1959 graduate of the Dickinson College, he was named Milton Hershey School’s Alumnus of the Year in 1987.  McKinney founded the J. Bruce McKinney Scholarship Fund, which provides financial assistance for youth hockey players to participate in the Hershey Jr. Bears program.

Join The Club!

Receive exclusive email with updates and offers.

Sign Me Up
Giant Foods WQIC - Soft Rock 100.1 Pepsi
Penn State Health Milton S. Hershey Medical Center Fox Sports 1460 Harrisburg