Press Release Details

BEARS RELEASE 2008-09 SCHEDULE


08/07/2008 - FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: August 7, 2008 CONTACT: John Walton – HERSHEY BEARS – (717) 682-6470 BEARS AND AMERICAN HOCKEY LEAGUE ANNOUNCE 2008-09 REGULAR SEASON SCHEDULE HOME OPENER SLATED FOR OCTOBER 18 VS. SYRACUSE, HERSHEY OPENS 71ST AMERICAN HOCKEY LEAGUE SEASON OCTOBER 8th IN WILKES-BARRE/SCRANTON HERSHEY – The HERSHEY BEARS announced today in conjunction with the American Hockey League the schedule of games that will make up the 2008-09 regular season. The announcement was made today by BEARS President/GM Doug Yingst. The BEARS will open the season Wednesday, October 8th at Wachovia Arena in Wilkes-Barre/Scranton against the Penguins, and open the home portion of the 2008-09 campaign Saturday, October 18 against the Syracuse Crunch. HERSHEY will play 20 different opponents in 2008-09, including the Houston Aeros and San Antonio Rampage. The games against the Texas based teams mark the first time the Chocolate and White will play Houston and San Antonio in regular season play. Houston will visit GIANT Center for the first time on Friday, January 9, while the Rampage will come to call for the first time ever in central PA on Saturday, February 7. Other dates of note include Rochester's lone visit to GIANT Center on Sunday, October 26 and Toronto's only visit of the season on Wednesday, March 25. The schedule is again heavy with East Division rivalry games, with the BEARS and Philadelphia slated to meet 12 times during the regular season. HERSHEY will face in-state rival Wilkes-Barre/Scranton 10 times and the Norfolk Admirals 10 games as well. Season ticket plans for the upcoming 2008-09 season are on sale now by calling (717) 508-BEAR, with plans starting at just $145. To follow, please find HERSHEY'S full 2008-09 schedule, consisting of 40 home games at GIANT Center and 40 road games. HERSHEY BEARS 2008-09 SCHEDULE (Home games in CAPS, all times eastern) Wednesday October 8: at WB/Scranton 7:05 p.m. Friday, October 10: at Norfolk 7:15 p.m. Saturday, October 11: at Norfolk 7:15 p.m. Friday, October 17: at Philadelphia 7:05 p.m. Saturday, October 18: SYRACUSE 7:00 p.m. Sunday, October 19: WB/SCRANTON 5:00 p.m. Saturday, October 25: BINGHAMTON 7:00 p.m. Sunday, October 26: ROCHESTER 5:00 p.m. Wednesday, October 29: at Hamilton 7:30 p.m. Friday, October 31: at Albany 7:00 p.m. Saturday, November 1: PHILADELPHIA 7:00 p.m. Sunday, November 2: at Philadelphia 5:00 p.m. Friday, November 7: at Albany 7:00 p.m. Saturday, November 8: at WB/Scranton 7:05 p.m. Sunday, November 9: at Bridgeport 4:00 p.m. Friday, November 14: at Philadelphia 7:05 p.m. Saturday, November 15: PHILADELPHIA 7:00 p.m. Sunday, November 16: BINGHAMTON 5:00 p.m. Friday, November 21: at Philadelphia 7:05 p.m. Saturday, November 22: BRIDGEPORT 7:00 p.m. Wednesday, November 26: BINGHAMTON 7:00 p.m. Friday, November 28: at Albany 7:00 p.m. Saturday, November 29: PHILADELPHIA 7:00 p.m. Sunday, November 30: NORFOLK 5:00 p.m. Saturday, December 6: HARTFORD 7:00 p.m. Sunday, December 7: NORFOLK 5:00 p.m. Thursday, December 11: at San Antonio 8:00 p.m. Saturday, December 13: at Houston 8:35 p.m. Friday, December 19: at WB/Scranton 7:05 p.m. Saturday, December 20: LOWELL 7:00 p.m. Sunday, December 21: LAKE ERIE 5:00 p.m. Saturday, December 27: BINGHAMTON 7:00 p.m. Sunday, December 28: ALBANY 5:00 p.m. Wednesday, December 31: at Springfield 1:00 p.m. Friday, January 2: at Providence 7:05 p.m. Saturday, January 3: at Hartford 7:00 p.m. Sunday, January 4: at Worcester 4:05 p.m. Wednesday, January 7: at Norfolk 7:15 p.m. Friday, January 9: HOUSTON 7:00 p.m. Saturday, January 10: ALBANY 7:00 p.m. Wednesday, January 14: ALBANY 7:00 p.m. Friday, January 16: at Bridgeport 7:00 p.m. Saturday, January 17: PHILADELPHIA 7:00 p.m. Sunday, January 18: WORCESTER 5:00 p.m. Wednesday, January 21: at Norfolk 7:15 p.m. Friday, January 23: WB/SCRANTON 7:00 p.m. Saturday, January 24: MANCHESTER 7:00 p.m. Friday, January 30: at WB/Scranton 7:05 p.m. Saturday, January 31: NORFOLK 7:00 p.m. Friday, February 6: at Philadelphia 7:05 p.m. Saturday, February 7: SAN ANTONIO 7:00 p.m. Sunday, February 8: PORTLAND 5:00 p.m. Wednesday, February 11: HAMILTON 7:00 p.m. Friday, February 13: at Binghamton 7:05 p.m. Saturday, February 14: NORFOLK 7:00 p.m. Monday, February 16: at Syracuse 7:00 p.m. Friday, February 20: at Rochester 7:35 p.m. Saturday, February 21: PHILADELPHIA 7:00 p.m. Wednesday, February 25: at Binghamton 7:05 p.m. Friday, February 27: at Binghamton 7:05 p.m. Saturday, February 28:NORFOLK 7:00 p.m. Sunday, March 1: PROVIDENCE 5:00 p.m. Saturday, March 7: at Toronto 4:00 p.m. Sunday, March 8: at Lake Erie 5:00 p.m. Wednesday, March 11: SPRINGFIELD 7:00 p.m. Saturday, March 14: WB/SCRANTON 7:00 p.m. Sunday, March 15: BRIDGEPORT 5:00 p.m. Friday, March 20: at Lowell 7:00 p.m. Saturday, March 21: at Portland 7:00 p.m. Sunday, March 22: at Manchester 4:00 p.m. Wednesday, March 25: TORONTO 7:00 p.m. Friday, March 27: at Binghamton 7:05 p.m. Saturday, March 28: BRIDGEPORT 7:00 p.m. Sunday, March 29: WB/SCRANTON 5:00 p.m. Wednesday, April 1: at Norfolk 7:15 p.m. Friday, April 3: at Bridgeport 7:00 p.m. Saturday, April 4: at WB/Scranton 7:05 p.m. Friday, April 10: at Philadelphia 7:05 p.m. Saturday, April 11: PHILADELPHIA 7:00 p.m. Sunday, April 12: WB/Scranton 6:00 p.m.

Purchase Tickets

  • Buy Tickets

    • Single Tickets
    • Group Tickets
    • Season Tickets
  • Bears News

    • Weekly Release
    • Video
    • Recent News
    • Stucc's Blog
    • Facebook
    • Twitter
    • YouTube
    • Pinterest