Next Home Game

vs 12-21 / 7 PM
Hershey's Don Biggs Named to 2018 AHL Hall of Fame Class

Hershey's Don Biggs Named to 2018 AHL Hall of Fame Class

10/17/2017 - The American Hockey League today announced that former Hershey Bears forward Don Biggs was among the four people selected for induction into the American Hockey League Hall of Fame as the Class of 2018.

Honored by the AHL Hall of Fame Selection Committee as the 13th group of enshrinees are Biggs, as well as Jim Bartlett, Brian Kilrea, and Glenn Merkosky.

Biggs played three seasons with Hershey from 1987-90. He was a member of the 1987-88 squad that won 50 regular season games and went a perfect 12-0 in the playoffs to earn the Calder Cup Championship. That season Biggs scored 79 points (38 goals, 41 assists) and posted 16 more points in the playoffs for one of the most prolific teams in AHL history. 

In 1988-89, Biggs played an even larger role offensively, scoring 103 points with the Chocolate and White, good for fifth in the AHL scoring race. His final campaign with the Bears came in 1989-90 when he tallied 92 points over 66 games.

Biggs, who won the Les Cunningham Award as the AHL's most valuable player with Binghamton in 1992-93, ranks 24th all-time in AHL scoring with 682 career points (273 goals, 419 assists). 

The Class of 2018 will be honored as part of the festivities at the 2018 AHL All-Star Classic presented by Turning Stone Resort Casino, hosted by the Utica Comets. The American Hockey League Hall of Fame Induction and Awards Ceremony is scheduled for January 29, 2018, at Turning Stone Resort Casino in Verona, N.Y.

Hershey Bears in a victory embrace

Join The Club!

Receive exclusive email with updates and offers.

Sign Me Up